Disturbing Behaviour

I have a confession to make.  Kona’s been driving me a little crazy over the last couple of weeks.  I don’t know if it’s the heat, or if she’s not getting enough exercise, or if she’s going through a growth spurt of some sort, but something is up and she is constantly restless. 

Our typical routine on weekday evenings involves P exercising Kona when he gets home from work.  They are usually out when I arrive home, so I get dinner started.  After dinner and dishes are taken care of, P goes upstairs to the office while I relax in the family room to watch some TV with Kona.  Normally, she settles.  Sometimes she needs to be encouraged to play with a chew toy. 

But these past few days?  She’s been… well I guess the polite way of putting it would be to say she’s “instigating”.  She’ll try and chew on our couch (which she knows is not allowed), or she’ll start chewing on her dog bed (also not allowed), and after that she chews on the concrete hearth in front of our fireplace.  In the past few days she also started chewing on the door mat at our back door. 

It’s driving me up the wall.  My “relaxing” evening ends up consisting of me disciplining her every 3 minutes or so.  And she knows what she’s doing is wrong.  The last time I caught her at the door mat and told her to “go to bed”, she walked straight to her crate and sat there looking at me. 

But as a fluke, I have discovered a distraction…

Thursday night I was watching the Top 20 perform on So You Think You Can Dance (yes, much to P’s dismay, I enjoy my fair share of reality TV).  When a jazz routine came on the screen, Kona was MESMERIZED.

Source

The moment the dance number ended, she went back to her annoying antics.  But as soon as the next routine, a Viennese Waltz, started, she was back to watching the TV.

Source

Sadly, her enjoyment of the dance program ended abruptly with the end of this routine.  The two numbers were so different that I can’t think of what it was that grabbed her attention.  I guess we’ll just have to see if she shows interest in any of the numbers in next week’s show!  Meanwhile I just may start taking her for a THIRD walk after dinner in hopes that it will help her settle.

Leave a Reply

