The Peanut Butter Game

If you’ve seen the movie Funny People with Adam Sandler and Seth Rogen, you already know about the Peanut Butter Game.  I’ve included a more detailed description of the scene at the end of this post, so you can avoid the spoiler in case you plan on seeing the movie and don’t want to know the details.  In a nutshell the Peanut Butter Game involves putting peanut butter on your cheek and letting a dog lick it off of your face. 

It was only a matter of time before we played this game with Kona.  P was the first to attempt it and he laughed through the whole experience.  He then proceeded to try to convince me to play.  I don’t mind when Kona licks my feet, hands, arms, legs… but licking my face is not something I enjoy.  Of course, P finds my discomfort very entertaining.  He will often pick up Kona so that her face is at the same height as mine and encourage her to give me “kisses”. 

Despite my reservations, P was persistent so I eventually caved in and put a bit of peanut butter on my cheek. 

Now, my first mistake was in the peanut butter placement.  I put it on the centre of my cheek and in retrospect I should have placed it closer to my ear.  As a result, when Kona went to lick my cheek (which was kind of cute and tickled) she ended up also LICKING MY LIPS several times.  I was completely grossed out.  P was doubled over laughing.  Sometimes I think he gets a little too much enjoyment out of watching me squirm when I am out of my comfort zone. 

We’ve since played the game with my sister A, and our niece.  So far all who have tried it have enjoyed it although never as much as the spectators!

 **Spoiler Alert**

In Funny People, George’s (Sandler) ex-girlfriend and her two daughters introduce George and Ira (Rogen) to a game they play with their two dogs.  To demonstrate, the youngest daughter lies down on the ground and her face is coated in peanut butter.  They call over their Boston Terrier who eagerly licks the peanut butter off of her face.  Then it is George’s turn to have peanut butter on his face.  He lies down on the ground, but instead of a Boston Terrier, a Mastiff trots over to play the game. 

Leave a Reply

